Mount Carmel Leadership

The dedicated work of our staff and Board of Trustees provides the direction and inspiration grounded in the Word, that keeps our camp strong in its mission.  


Dan Baker

Executive Director

Jonathan Swenson

Summer Program Director

Jana Swenson

Development Director

Kierra Blackstad

Interim Retreat Coordinator

Shelli Crowe

Summer Registar

Jackie Gertken

Admin Assistant / Bookkeeping

Verney Klemm

Buildings and Grounds Director

Heidi Knauf

Housekeeping Manager

Phyllis Jacobson

Planned Giving Coordinator

Suzy Affeldt

Food Service Manager

Group Photo 2018

Summer & Year Round Staff 2018


The Mount Carmel Ministries Board of Trustees consists of eleven men and women who are elected by the Proclaimers (voting members of Mount Carmel). Each year at our Annual Meeting, the Board of Trustee candidates are elected, each for a three year term.

The 2019 Annual Meeting for Proclaimers will be at 2:00 on August 3rd. Call the office for more information (320) 846-2744.

The 2018-2019 Board of Trustees are:

  • Sally Smith – Alexandria, MN
  • Nate Bjorge – Little Falls, MN
  • Stu Wood  – Alexandria, MN
  • Bill Odermann – Austin, MN
  • David Schmidgall – Hancock, MN
  • Kim Deterding – Alexandria, MN
  • Ken Birst – Bismarck, ND
  • Miriam Kindem – Bemidji, MN
  • Bryn Knatterud – St. Paul, MN
  • Eric Ristvedt – Alexandria, MN
  • Jay Gorham – St. Paul, MN