Welcome to Mount Carmel Ministries!


Jackie Gertken

Office Manager

Suzy Affeldt

Food Service Manager

Luke Elliott

Facilities Director

Phyllis Jacobson

Planned Giving Coordinator

Chelsey Genszler

Marketing Coordinator and Office Administrator

Heidi Knauf

Operations Director

Tim Peterson

Executive Director

David Blackstad

Program Director

Heather Shreve


Jenny Jorgenson

Housekeeping Director

Meet the new staff!

Heather Shreve - Registrar

Hello! Heather is excited to join Mount Carmel Ministries! She loves Mount Carmel providing a place for people to slow down and to connect with God. Heather is passionate about ministry and caring for others so they can experience the love of Jesus. She loves that she gets to join Mount Carmel and to help with providing a restful place for people to connect with Jesus. 

She and her family are fairly new to the Alexandria area and she’s enjoying living in Minnesota “lake country”, despite needing to wear sweatshirts every month of the year (oh well). Heather loves cheering on the Minnesota Vikings and she’s always up for grabbing coffee (actually, it’s usually a mocha) with a friend. Heather looks forward to meeting all of you!

Jenny Jorgenson - Housekeeping Director

Jennifer is married to Nicholas and has 7 kids (Kiley-20, Tiara-19, Raven-19, Lucas-17, Christian-14, Isaiah-12, and Sophia-4). They live out in the country on a small hobby farm with 7 cats and 3 dogs. She enjoys spending time with her family and loving on people like Jesus would. She grew up a Pastor’s kid and has worked in various ministries her entire life. 

Along with Mount Carmel, she currently works as a Chaplain for a local manufacturing company and also works with another local ministry doing classes for the community. 

Her family has also done foster care since 2004, so many more children have become a part of their family. 

Luke Elliott - Facilities Director

Luke grew up in Moorhead, Minnesota as the child of two Lutheran pastors. He stayed close to home after high school, studying philosophy at Concordia College. Growing up he would always spend parts of his summers at Camp Emmaus in Menahga, Minnesota and, after college, moved to Alexandria to be a camp counselor. He worked full-time in outdoor ministry for 3 years before moving into the construction industry.

Luke is very passionate about outdoor ministry and showing God’s love by spending time outside, discussions in Bible study, or worships around a campfire. He is very excited to be welcomed as the new Facilities Director and enhance the experience of all folks who come to visit Mount Carmel.

Luke now lives in Alexandria with his wife, Maddie, his son Soren (1-1/2), and Dragon the Dog. He likes to spend his free time going on family walks, reading, and playing music.

Board of Trustees

The Mount Carmel Ministries Board of Trustees consists of eleven men and women who are elected by the Proclaimers (voting members of Mount Carmel). Each year at our Annual Meeting, the Board of Trustee candidates are elected, each for a three-year-term.

Call the office for more information (320) 846-2744, or email at contactboard@mountcarmelministries.com.

The Board of Trustees are:

Sally Smith – Alexandria, MN

Stu Wood – Alexandria, MN

Bill Odermann – Austin, MN

Kim Deterding – Alexandria, MN

Bryn Knatterud – St. Paul, MN

Marcella Nelson – Brookfield, WI

Paige Knorek – Lake Park, MN

Dave Wollan – Hutchinson, MN

Ken Birst – Bismarck, ND

Miriam Kindem – Bemidji, MN

Eric Ristvedt – Alexandria, MN

Joanna Green – Alexandria, MN